Being a stay-at-home wife

Before I met Ben or ever knew what I wanted to do about my education, I felt somewhere in my heart that I didn’t really want a career life. I wanted to be able to stay at home and take care of my kids instead, if was granted the chance.

While dating, Ben and I talked about whether or not I would ever want to be a stay at home mom or not and even more out outside the norm a stay- at- home wife. When Ben would ask me those questions at first, I would get so self conscious because I wanted to say the answer I felt everyone else expected which was, get a career and work either till you have kids or work with kids. I didn’t know how he would react so I would always say “I don’t really know” or go around the subject in fear that he would be disappointed. I really wanted to say “I hope to marry someone who can be perfectly okay if I chose to stay home or not”

I have an education and I believe its very important but I know that its to help me learn and grow. I love learning and I would not trade that for the world. I have faith to know that we can just live on one income and be okay.

I get so many questions from people who ask “so where are you going to work now that you are done with school”? I tell them, “I am going to stay at home” so then they ask ” oh so your going to do a home business with you Culinary degree” I just tell them that “I am going to stay at home, learn to relax and take care of the home while we prepare for a family”. Most people either say that’s really cool, or hmm that’s kind of  a waste of your degree right? NO. I don’t view it as a waste at all. I feel like I am gaining more now more than ever.

I’m not going to lie though, this is something that is not the least bit easy for me. I am used to going and going and going non stop especially after the past 3 years of diving right into school after my mission. I am not a person who can easily sit still without feeling like I am going crazy. This change has been good but also very hard some days. my mentality is “I have to feel exhausted in order to have a productive day”. Ben will come home and ask “how was your day today”? Some days I felt like I shouldn’t answer because I only did three things in the whole day. But other days I get excited to tell him all that I accomplished.

This is how a typical day goes: I wake up with Ben before he goes to work and we walk in the morning together at the lake. We’ll come back and Ill prepare a healthy breakfast for bot of us. (I change I had wanted to make for a while) After he leaves for the day, Ill exercise some more and get ready for the day at my own pace. Ill clean the dishes and look at the chore for that day. I usually have time I spend writing or reading before lunch. Ill prepare lunch and watch a dramatic show on Netflix or leave the house to run errands and take care of other things. If there is a certain project I am working on, I will spend a few hours on it and that’s always fun.plate design

When 3:30 comes around, I look at our weekly menu and see what needs to be prepared for dinner which is always an adventure. One of my favorite parts is being able to spend as much time as I want on cooking dinner and experimenting while different things. I get to put my degree to use everyday and all the time because I get to spend time on something that I love doing. The best part of the meal though is having Ben say ” Sweetie, you are so talented, you have done it again” Those words are music to my ear.

I know that with time things will get busy and crazy but am so happy I get to use my talents and gain new skills from staying at home. If I can help it, I am not going to go back to work. There is so much good I am able to do such as volunteer work, helping the elderly in our ward, and sisters that might need a hand in babysitting or just a friend to talk to.  We are very happy and feel good about the way we are doing things in our home. doing this helps me to stay sane and gives us more time together to do the things we want to do.

2 thoughts on “Being a stay-at-home wife

Leave a Reply

