Culinary Nightmares

I am currently a culinary arts student about to graduate in about a month and I am so excited. In my excitement I had a nightmare about failing and having to do the program all over again. There are these competitions called K-comp which the students pick a dish they want to do and they work on perfecting it for weeks with the end result of performing in front of many judges on how you behave in the kitchen. they judge you on how timely you are, sanitary skills, your ease of the kitchen environment and many more.

Well in this not so fun nightmare of mine, I had to do another student k-comp in order to graduate but for some reason I showed up to the competition with no idea of a protein, veggies or sauce in mind. I did not know what I was going to prepare and that made me terrified. The judge there came up to me and asked if I had a menu and  I had no choice but to tell him the truth. He also commented on the fact that i forgot my hat and my apron and made sure I knew I couldn’t borrow any from the back.spices

The whole time I was trying to be as calm as possible but i as scared out of my mind. I was sweating and felt like I was going to throw up. after two years of lack of sleep, blisters on my feet, aching joints and no friends, I was not going to pass because I wasn’t prepared.

Was this really because I am scared I am not going to graduate? Am I afraid I am not prepared in a certain area of my life? This is something I have been thinking about all day and how we can more prepared in our daily lives.

Maybe I need to be more diligent in studying my scriptures in the mornings before work, or maybe Ben and I need to start preparing a certain aspect of our lives in order to be ready. Whatever this dream might have meant, I feel that if we are prepared we will be able to stay calm through the craziness of this wonderful world.

As Always,

Leave a Reply

